Moving on (for now)

Sometimes an idea for a post rattles in my head for days, sometimes even weeks.  Right up front, with is me saying farewell to New Eden (who knows for how long though).

That’s right – as amazing as this game is, and more importantly the community that surrounds it, it is time for me to dock up and walk away for a while.

It might be for a few weeks, or it could be a few months.  Heck, I may never step foot inside the capsule again.  All I know is that I am ready to move on (although whatever “Empire Space” changes CCP have planned for the summer expansion might be enough to convince me to come back).

After coming back from Iceland, I did feel rejuvenated and ready to try new things.  But the more I tried to step outside my comfort zone within the game, the more real life came crushing me down.  As it currently stands, I’ve barely had the chance to log in, despite having dreams of developing my own corporation – something that sadly I couldn’t eventually put the time and effort into that I had wanted to (indeed had planned to do).

Another major issue comes down to the fact that I am feeling somewhat limited in the game, given that I don’t really have a lot of time to devote to it.

I have no interest in living in null sec – I had fun in Querious last year with Affirmative and the QFC, but the bigger powers chose to spoil that.  And sadly null sec is where a large portion of my friends in the AUTZ tend to live.

I would love to join in on larger scale drifter/incursion PvE type activities, but either I cannot commit to put a chunk of time aside, or things run in timezones that just do not suit.

With that said, I do still hope to be part of the community at large, as I begin winning Eve Offline.  I hope to remain active on Twitter and the couple of Discord channels I subscribe to, where I know I have come to enjoy chatting with many of you.

Oh and for my Aussie friends, this does mean that I am officially NOT attending EveDownUnder this year – the change to mid-year really did mess up timelines, with the new timeslot occuring in what is perhaps the busiest time of the year for me at work.  I do however still hope to make it to any local player gatherings that may crop up in the future.

So in the meantime, what will I be up to???

Well I’ve started trying out some Elite:Dangerous (the exploration part is interesting, although I’m not sure if I’ll stick with it too long), and am itching to get a couple of “completed” games of Stellaris under my belt (its been sitting on my computer for ages but never got around to actually finishing the handful of games I started).

Oh and of course there’s the whole “get real life under control” thing – you know – regain some semblance of a work-life balance that is sorely lacking at the moment.

I’m also hoping to keep up with the blogging – I’ve come to enjoy writing and would like to continue sharing whatever gaming activities I continue to pursue.

So until next time – see you all in space soonTM.

Leave a Reply

